If you liked “Hunger Games”…

You should really read Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. You may like it even more, as I did! This novel is fairly new and comes with a few sequels, which is great for classroom reading such as Sustained Silent Reading or DEAR! Kids love a good series and it keeps them occupied for a few months of reading time during class.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 11.17.00 AM

Here is the basic run-down: a lowly girl happens upon circumstances that thrust her into the court of royals whom are significantly different than her due to their “silver” blood. Here something crazy happens and she is forced to take on the identity of a “silver” costing her more than just her identity throughout the story. She ultimately has to choose a side, red or silver, and pays dearly for her choice. The final ending is very surprising and one I truly didn’t see coming! However, in retrospect all of the foreshadowing was present just difficult to make sense of.

Red Queen shares similar motifs to Hunger Games especially in the rebellious attitudes towards a suffocating governing force as well as the love triangle that multiple stories seem to have currently, think Gale/Peeta or Jacob/Edward. As much as I do not like novels where the strong “heroine” seems to fall into the love trap, RQ kept much of the integrity of the female lead allowing her to progress the story based upon the conflict with the governing force rather than the conflict of who to choose to love.

The only qualm I have with this novel is the lack of in depth character development for a majority of the ones seen in the spotlight. I wished I got more through Cal and Mere (our heroine) could have used some more layers as well. Some of the focal characters besides these two lacked depth but in an extrememly purposeful way. Read to the end and you’ll see what I am hinting at. With a twist as great as this one, I don’t want to give anything away!

This is a great read for the middle grades due to the lack of adult language, themes, and sexuality. At times, it is harder to find engaging books for higher level readers in the middle grades that is still deemed “PG.” This is definitely a good pick, I enjoyed it even as an adult!

Take a read and let me know what you think in the comments below!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under books, literature, teach, YA Literature, YAL, young adult literautre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s