Marriage and Romance Novels

Image

“But I lacked the courage and she had a boyfriend and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating. So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was hurricane.” -John Green Looking for Alaska

Marrying my husband set a whirlwind of emotions inside of me that I have not been able to quite shake. If I could sum up my emotions on my wedding day the phrase that resonates within me would be that of pure joy. I’m sure all of our close family and friends that attended would qualify that notion by how huge Scott and I’s smiles were throughout the day. I was promising my life to the most compassionate and caring man I have ever come to know, making the covenant we now hold sacred.

Recently there has been an uncanny shift in the type of novels that I usually choose to read. My go-to for the past few years or so has been in the Sci-Fy/Fantasy YAL genre. My obsessions usually included the Harry Potter series, The Maze Runner series, and anything dystopian/vampy/zombie fiction. So, with this background information, it should come as a complete and utter shock that I have really been delving into romance novels. For this, I blame my wedding.

For some reason or another I find myself reading novels and craving romantic scenes with the characters. My real life love and enamor with my husband seems to project onto what I want of my literature.  My kindle, my most prized possession, usually holds titles such as The Maze Runner, Divergent, Ender’s Game, and Brave New World along with classics that I am trying to catch up on for my new teaching career. However, upon pulling up my home page, Wuthering Heights (a lovely classic), Redeeming Love (such a fantastic example of true love), and Looking for Alaska (teenage love tugs at my heart) all attest to my recent change in genre. Instead of techno/science action scenes, I find myself finding comfort in intimate, “kissy”, steamy, true and pure love scenes. Again, I blame this on my wedding.

I suppose this new shift in what I want for my reading materials comes from the profound and pure love that I am growing into with my husband. Every day breeds new experiences and trials that our love explores, deepens, and perseveres. Reading about fictional character’s love allows me to gain ever-changing perspectives and allows me the opportunity to explore beyond what I “think” love should be.

Most recently I read Redeeming Love. The beauty of this novel, usually categorized as inspirational romance, is not just the powerful, biblically rooted love story that engages between Michael and Angel. It is about rising up from the ashes of despair in your life and finding and knowing that you are worthy.

I am worthy. I am worthy not only to my husband but to my Creator as well. This knowledge leads us to the unparalleled ways that love and faith can conquer all, and that my marriage is going to be a loving and fulfilling journey for years to come.

Until next time,

Stephanie

3 Comments

Filed under lifestyle, Marriage

3 responses to “Marriage and Romance Novels

  1. Shari

    Stephanie, It was an awesome day! Love the way you write. You make me proud!

  2. Pingback: How to Get Hard-to-Find Romance Novels | Arts & Entertainment Articles

  3. Pingback: The Blacksmith Novel – Extended Trailer | Fiction Online by Ana Calin

Leave a Reply

